Happy Friday Eve Eve!


Oh my! As the weather is getting nicer here in the Nation’s Capital I find myself spending less time at home and more time outdoors! As a result, I have neglected this blog a little bit. Forgive me!

I’ve also been extra busy because this week has been out of control activity wise! My workouts have been as follows (my weeks start on Saturday because that’s my weigh-in day πŸ˜‰ )

Saturday: 1 hour spin/1 hour body pump/6km walking

Sunday: 9km run + 6.5km walk

Monday: 15 minutes on the stairmaster, 1 hour Body Pump class

Tuesday: 45 minute spin (T’s first class!!)

Wednesday: 7.25km run

Boy, was it chilly on my run this morning! This was my first time running outside before work since last summer and my legs and butt were numb! Bear in mind it was -4 degrees, -8 with the windchill πŸ˜‰ Still, it was a great run!

Product Review

About a month ago, Ashley from Purevia contacted me to see if I would be interested in trying out Purevia brand stevia. As an avid stevia user and enthusiast, I obviously said YES!. One wonderful day last week, the mail stork guy at my work swooped in with a package containing these babies goodies:

I can’t even tell you how stoked I was to get this travel mug. Before Christmas, I was complaining that I didn’t have a travel mug, so the bf’s mom got me one for Xmas. Then I was faced with the dilemma of not having one for work and for home (because you know, sometimes there are impromtu situations where you need a travel mug!!). It’s like Purevia heard me prayers πŸ˜€

As far as the actual sweetener goes (because I am pretty sure that’s what they wanted me to review, not the mug πŸ˜‰ ), I loved it! To be superficial first of all – because, as Andy Warhol once said, ” I am a deeply superficial person” – I loved the packaging. After buying the brands that are available to me in Canada for so long and wanting to die of boredom at the weird/lame/1970s packaging, Purevia was very refreshing. I was also impressed that there was a LOT more stevia in each packet than in the brands I buy here. Now, I should add that once I used the stevia I noticed that it wasn’t as sweet as the Canadian brands, but I was ok with that – I often found I was oversweetening things before just because it was so much of a pain in the tukis to fold over the packet and then it would spill all over my desk/drawer/fridge/counter.

I tried the Purevia in oatmeal, on berries, in coffee and tea, and on grapefruit, and it literally tasted exactly like sugar. I was thoroughly impressed with it! It had no weird aftertaste, like some stevia brands can, and mimicked sugar amazingly! My supply is dwindling (I go through a lot of this stuff, since I take it to work and add it to my coffee/tea there, as well as my coffee at home, daily oatmeal, etc.) and that makes me very sad, but I’m hoping that when I am in Florida in April I will have the opportunity to pick some up πŸ™‚
Delicious Eats

Last night, I made a delicious dinner. I sauteed spinach (a LOT of spinach, like 3 cups) with green pepper, red onion and garlic. Then I added ~1/2 cup egg whites and 1 whole egg, along with 2 laughing cow light cheese wedge. On the side, I had my favourite bread, Silver Hills sprouted bread. This week I’m trying the Big 16 bread instead of the Little Big bread and, for 1 pt a slice (due to its high fibre content) it is AMAZING!! Try this bread!! And how cute is the packaging?

And here is my dinner:

I also wanted to bring to your guys’ attention two new amazing products recently released by the President’s Choice Blue Menu Line (I want to marry this “President”, seriously). I recommend that all Canadians PICK THESE UP!

First, Bulgur and Quinoa with Chick Peas

Second, Orzo with Beans and Goat Cheese

Try them and let me know what you think πŸ™‚ I have been bringing them for lunch (1/4 of one or the other, each day) and they are fantastic.

2 responses to “Happy Friday Eve Eve!

Leave a Reply

