D: Smart Listens to the Head, Stupid Listens to the Heart


Happy Valentines Day, friends 😀 The title of this post reflects nothing in its content, but rather, it’s the text from a magazine ad T and I saw yesterday at Chapters:

Ignore my ugly thumb, please!

Groceries

So I thought I would start off by discussing my groceries that I got today. I had meant to take a picture of everything I got to show you guys, but I put everything away before I remembered 😦 I will, however, give you a list! Usually, before I go to the grocery store, I will look through the flyer for my grocery store and make a list on my blackberry of things that I want to get. This saves me money and helps me plan my meals ahead of time. Anyways, here’s what I got:

  • Liberte 0% Greek Yogurt
  • Dutch cocoa powder
  • pre-cut broccoli
  • 4 navel oranges
  • 2 red Anjou pears
  • 2 Bartlett pears
  • hot salsa
  • 2 half pints of blueberries
  • 2 half pints of raspberries
  • 4 small sweet potatoes
  • 50g of mint chocolate black tea
  • 100g of mint chocolate rooibos tea (I bought 50g of this last week at The Tea Store last week and it was AMAZING so I had to get more 😉
  • 1 can chick peas
  • 1 can black beans
  • Lindt 85% chocolate bar

So there you have it! I decided to switch up my lunches this week (suspense! what will I bring for lunch!?!?) because the black bean burgers were upsetting my stomach (especially since all of my snacks were fibrous as well, and so was my dinner most nights).

Eats

Today was a strange eating day (as are most Sundays). Here’s how the day rolled:

9:30am – 2 slices Silver Hills sprouted whole wheat bread

1 red grapefruit

11:00am – 1 hour cardio at the gym

2:30pm – 175g Greek yogurt

1/3 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/4 cup canned pumpkin

1 kashi pumpkin pie bar

frozen berries

4:00pm – bag of 100 calorie popcorn with Frank’s Red Hot sauce

6:30pm – Tofu shirataki noodles

Steamed broccoli

1 small sweet potato, steamed

125g cottage cheese

2 laughing cow light cheese wedges

2 tbsp nutritional yeast

7:00pm – 1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1 tsp dutch cocoa powder

1/4 cup pumpkin

1 square Lindt 85% chocolate

7g peanut butter (1/2 tablespoon)

Reflection

So, today I woke up with a candy hangover. If you’ve ever had a candy hangover, you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about. Every Saturday, T and I celebrate the weekend, books, and our twestieship by eating copious amounts of candy while sitting at Chapters and reading magazines and books. We call this glorious tradition “Candy Saturday”, and it is a standing date that I count down to all week.

Yesterday, however, was Candy Saturday to the max. T and I got our candies, ate them, and then when we parted ways at 5:30, I went and got more candy (because I was watching a movie and wanted more candy, dammit). Now, the extra candy is not what is weighing on my mind, because most Candy Saturdays I just eat my candy ration and move on with the day, typically eating something light for dinner (because I’m not hungry, not to repent or anything).

What I do have on my mind, is that yesterday, on my date with T, I got too much candy. And many Saturdays, I get too much candy. Now, one school of thought would be “Well you work hard all week, so you deserve to eat a buttload of candy on Saturdays”. My school of thought, after much reflection this afternoon, is that my candy eating is excessive, and should probably be cut back. Now, this isn’t because I don’t “deserve” to eat candy on Saturdays; it’s because I buy a large quantity of candies that taste the same, and end up eating them just because they’re there. Let me elaborate.

I buy sour keys, sour grapefruits, sour patch kids, and sour fruit salad. People, sour keys, sour patch kids, and sour fruit salad TASTE THE SAME. And, to be honest, I don’t even like the sour grapefruits that much! So why do I buy all four of those, instead of just getting a few sour keys and a few sour patch kids (or sour fruit salad)? And, what’s more, why do I get a ton of each of those candies when, seriously, after 5 little sour keys and 10ish little fruit salad pieces, I am candied out? And then, I eat them because they are there, in my candy bag, and it’s “Candy Saturday”. Chocolate is less of an issue – I usually get 5 or 6 smarties, 2 chocolate covered cherries, and 3 or 4 chocolate covered ju jubes.

In a nutshell, what I’m trying to say, is that Candy Saturday is totally awesome and something I want to continue to celebrate; however, I would like to be more mindful about my candy selections, so I don’t wake up the next day feeling like my body is staging a coup. Here’s what I am going to do next weekend for Candy Saturday:

– 2 types of sour candy  (and only say, 5 little sour keys and 10 little fruit salads)

– 3 types of chocolate (same as candy, easy on the portions)

–  cinnamon  and anise jawbreakers (love these)

And then I will call it a [Candy Satur]day.  I know this is going to come across as very OCD to some of you, but having control over my relationship with food is very important to me in order to feel as though I am able to keep the weight I lost off, and, although the actual scale “damage” from Candy Saturday is easily mitigated given my eating habits the rest of the week, the compulsion I show around bulk candy bins bothers me (and my wallet, holla!).

Please feel free to check in next Sunday to see how I made out on Candy Saturday. It would be helpful for me, too, actually 🙂

Nighty night!

Leave a Reply

