D: Another day closer to Friday (& some workout songs)


Hi, guys. I thought I would do another one of these “what I ate today” posts. People seem to like seeing pictures of what people eat, so I figured, what the hey? I also thought I would share with you guys some of the songs that keep me going at the gym!

MUSIC

First things first, music! In no particular order, here are my recent favourite gym songs:

Who Wants To Be Alone – Tiesto ft. Nelly Furtado (I think this would make a great spinning song)

Come Fly Away – Benny Benassi (one of my spin instructors LOVES this song and now I do too! Both the original and the Danny D remix are good)

High Heels – Lola

Black and Gold – Sam Sparrow

I Gotta Feeling (David Guetta Remix) – Black Eyed Peas

Destination Unknown – Alex Gaudino

Take It Off – Ke$ha

Dance in the Dark – Lady Gaga

Telephone – Lady Gaga ft. Beyonce

Love Generation – Bob Sinclair

I Bet You Look Good on the Dance Floor – the Arctic Monkeys

That’ s just a sampling, but let me know what you think if you download any of these 🙂

EATS

Here’s what I ate today (after I went to the gym this morning before work and did 45 minutes of cardio between the stairmaster and the treadmill)

B: Protein powder goo (same as yesterday)

Vitatop

orange pekoe tea

S: Coffee from Bridgehead (some coworkers went and kindly brought me back one 😀 )

L: Black bean burger

4 tbsp guacamole (working on getting more monounsaturated fat in my diet 😀 )

1 laughing cow light cheese wedge

2 slices Silver Hills sprouted bread

I know it looks like poop on bread guys, but it tastes delicious.

S – Pineapple

mug of Second Cup caramel rooibos tea

S – Kashi cocoa coconut bar

S – This is where a coworker offered me free reign over a ziplock bag full of Cadbury mini eggs and I gave in to about 12 😦

D – 1 can of Weight Watchers 0 Point Southwest Vegetable Soup*

1 package of tofu shirataki noodles (0 pts)*

1 whole zucchini (roasted in the oven with hot sauce)

2 slices sprouted 1 pt bread

1/4 cup cottage cheese

* I only ate probably 1/2 of the soup/noodle combo, if that.

S – A grapefruit

I will also be having a bowl of frozen berries momentarily and then my kitchen is CLOSED for the night.

You’ll notice I eat a lot of the same foods every day. This is because, as I said in my “Top 5” post, I have staple foods that I know keep me full and that are yummy 🙂

Oh, and please share your workout song ideas with me! I tend to listen to the same songs over and over again when I really love them and then they go stale 😦

Ttys,

D.


3 responses to “D: Another day closer to Friday (& some workout songs)

  • starrystarrynight

    I admire your weight loss journey. I too was on weight watchers for a time and found it the most sane of the approaches that I looked into.

    If and when you are done that part of the journey (some do it for life and that’s cool too), I’d recommend a book that literally changed my outlook on eating and weight etc. – Intuitive Eating – written by two nutritionists. I ended up reading a lot in this vein and this is still my fave. I even wrote out my own tips, largely inspired by this for a friend who couldn’t get into the book and could share off-line if you like.

  • twesties

    Hi! It’s funny you mention Intuitive Eating, because I’ve actually owned it for a couple of years! I have another book that’s very similar called “Fed Up” (http://www.amazon.com/Fed-Up-Breakthrough-Ten-Step-No-Diet/dp/0071438017/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1265854335&sr=8-9).

    I really liked both books’ approaches. I struggle a lot with being an intuitive eater, and find myself overeating at random. I am too scared to go fully “intuitive” because when I first tried that approach about 3 years ago I “intuitively” ate myself 20lbs heavier. I think to eat that way would be incredibly freeing, though. I actually have had that book on my nightstand for about 2 months now in my “queue” of books to re-read, so thanks for reminding me 🙂

    I’d love to hear more about how you made intuitive eating work for you. Did you gain weight at all?

  • Harry Condron

    I really appreciate what you wrote, as Im always looking for a different way of looking at things.

Leave a Reply

