Daily Archives: February 10, 2010

D: Another day closer to Friday (& some workout songs)

Hi, guys. I thought I would do another one of these “what I ate today” posts. People seem to like seeing pictures of what people eat, so I figured, what the hey? I also thought I would share with you guys some of the songs that keep me going at the gym!

MUSIC

First things first, music! In no particular order, here are my recent favourite gym songs:

Who Wants To Be Alone – Tiesto ft. Nelly Furtado (I think this would make a great spinning song)

Come Fly Away – Benny Benassi (one of my spin instructors LOVES this song and now I do too! Both the original and the Danny D remix are good)

High Heels – Lola

Black and Gold – Sam Sparrow

I Gotta Feeling (David Guetta Remix) – Black Eyed Peas

Destination Unknown – Alex Gaudino

Take It Off – Ke$ha

Dance in the Dark – Lady Gaga

Telephone – Lady Gaga ft. Beyonce

Love Generation – Bob Sinclair

I Bet You Look Good on the Dance Floor – the Arctic Monkeys

That’ s just a sampling, but let me know what you think if you download any of these πŸ™‚

EATS

Here’s what I ate today (after I went to the gym this morning before work and did 45 minutes of cardio between the stairmaster and the treadmill)

B: Protein powder goo (same as yesterday)

Vitatop

orange pekoe tea

S: Coffee from Bridgehead (some coworkers went and kindly brought me back one πŸ˜€ )

L: Black bean burger

4 tbsp guacamole (working on getting more monounsaturated fat in my diet πŸ˜€ )

1 laughing cow light cheese wedge

2 slices Silver Hills sprouted bread

I know it looks like poop on bread guys, but it tastes delicious.

S – Pineapple

mug of Second Cup caramel rooibos tea

S – Kashi cocoa coconut bar

S – This is where a coworker offered me free reign over a ziplock bag full of Cadbury mini eggs and I gave in to about 12 😦

D – 1 can of Weight Watchers 0 Point Southwest Vegetable Soup*

1 package of tofu shirataki noodles (0 pts)*

1 whole zucchini (roasted in the oven with hot sauce)

2 slices sprouted 1 pt bread

1/4 cup cottage cheese

* I only ate probably 1/2 of the soup/noodle combo, if that.

S – A grapefruit

I will also be having a bowl of frozen berries momentarily and then my kitchen is CLOSED for the night.

You’ll notice I eat a lot of the same foods every day. This is because, as I said in my “Top 5” post, I have staple foods that I know keep me full and that are yummy πŸ™‚

Oh, and please share your workout song ideas with me! I tend to listen to the same songs over and over again when I really love them and then they go stale 😦

Ttys,

D.



T: A day in the [literary] life

Since D. decided to show you a day in her life with food I decided to give you an oh so exciting day in my life with reading, even if just to show you that there is always a few moments for a book.

This one will be short but as a lovely blog reader has given me suggestions for female biographical reads I will soon be able to give you some feedback on that! Also, if anyone has anything lit-related they’re curious about or anything they’d like to read about …be my muse, inspire me!

7:00 am – Get up for work (I am not as gung-ho as D. but hopefully will be come March 1 with my new gym membership)

8:00 am – catch the bus and read for the 20 min. it takes me to get to work (today my read was “What Every American Should Know About the Middle East – told you I was a nerd)

10:00 am – blog πŸ™‚

12:30 – Lunch (Study for the LSAT on my “break”)

4:00pm – get off work and have volunteer interview with Amnesty International (wish me luck!)

5:00 pm – meet a friend for coffee….and then stay behind and read more of my crash course on Middle Eastern history and politics

6:00pm – walk the dog and make supper (usually scrambled eggs with cut up veggies and feta…Im super boring AND I LOVE EGGS)

7:00pm – Pilates at home

8:00pm – read a min. of 50 pages of Allan Gottlieb’s memoirs “The Washington Diaries”…then depending on how tired I am/anything that interests me on TV I either read another 50 pages …of this or one of the many books I have on the go. I have recently separatedΒ the books I have read and those I bought and have yet to read…this shelf is my motivation to keep reading…primarily so I can feel justified in buying more books!!!!

…see readers, no matter how busy you are you can always find a quiet moment for a book, even if that means you take a month or a year to finish…you still managed to feed your mind, which is just as important as feeding your tummy! πŸ™‚