T: “Best” books…how subjective…


So,

Reader(s)…if there is still anyone out there. I feel as though I’ve let you down a little on the literary front, AND since that’s what I signed up for that makes me a horrible blogger. This is an effort at redemption. A personal reaction to About.com’s 10 best books of the 2000s.

I probably should have though to do this in, well, January. BUT that would be too mainstream and then how would I ever hope to become an indie kid?

1. ‘The Kite Runner’ by Khaled Hosseini.

I completely agree with this one. A fantastic…and a little disturbing…read. The only thing that kind of miffs me is that I feel that as a female Hosseini’s ‘a thousand splendid suns’ was much easier to relate to, should have been a side note because I feel like both of these books are just two sides of the same coin…feel free to disagree.

 

2. ‘The Thirteenth Tale’ by Diane Setterfield

 

…wish I could say I’ve read it, or even heard of it.

 

3. ‘Water for Elephants’ by Sara Gruen

 

…also never read this one. BUT D. won’t shut up about it so maybe y’all will get lucky and she’ll weigh in on this post with her thoughts.

 

4. ‘The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society’ by M. Shaffer and A. Barrows

 

Adorable, light-hearted read. Which is a difficult task to carry out when the novel is set within a war. You fall in love with every character and it makes you yearn for the days of letter writing…in fact it makes you yearn for any human connection that doesn’t involve Facebook, BBM, twitter, or blogs…although blogs shouldn’t really count. They are better than that…(**please don’t stop reading the blogs…**)

 

5. ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’ by Audrey Niffenegger

 

A little convoluted and confusing (with a slightly off-putting and asexual sex scene) to begin with, but I promise if you give this one a chance you will come to love it. I have yet to see the movie, as I am petrified that every ounce of love I have for this one will turn into intense hatred (…this often happens when films are made out of books I like…thank you Peter Jackson for ruining the Lovely Bones…seriously THANK YOU). However, if the movie is great then please comment and let me know since I love me some Rachel McAdams.

 

6. ‘The Road’ by Cormac McCarthy

 

…speaking of movies I never hope to see. How can a Pulitzer prize-winning book be sooooo boring? I am still puzzling over how in the world they will fill two hours of plot with the gems McCarthy provided here…

 

7. ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time’ by Mark Haddon

 

…have not read it.

 

8. ‘Middlesex’ by Jeffrey Eugenides

 

Although many friends of mine found this one dry I adored it. I really found myself identifying with characters that surprised me and empathizing with the obstacles that Callie faced on her route to happiness…most of them were things everyone struggles with – being comfortable in your own skin, the hardships of adolescence, feeling like no one understands you…sometimes not even you.

 

9. ‘What is the What’ by Dave Eggers

 

LOVE LOVE LOVE this book. Would lend it to a complete stranger in the hopes that it would touch them the way it did me. I found it refreshing in the midst of the many compelling child soldiers stories to find one where the author admits that this story is based on the memories of a child and as such can not be taken as completely biographical…but rather just as a lesson in courage, hope, and perseverance through the eyes of a child.

This one is a MUST READ.

 

10. ‘Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince’ by J.K. Rowling

 

Sorry guys, I’ve tried my best I just can’t get into the Harry Potter books…you’ll have to visit another blog for thoughts on this one.

 

This site has some interesting descriptions of all the above books and why they were chosen – and for you book clubbers it also has lists of discussion questions if you’re into that sort of thing.

 

http://bestsellers.about.com/od/bestworstoftheyear/tp/best_books_decade_2000_2009.htm

 

Books I think were left out in the cold…

 

1. “Bloodletting and other Miraculous Cures”

2. “The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao”

3. “The Book of Negroes”

4. Bill Clinton “My Life” (This one is purely based on my personal obsession with the man…but it is a good book)

5. “Hot, Flat and Crowded” (Thomas Friedman’s examination of global warming in relation to political economy…super readable I SWEAR)

6. “The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas”

 

….to name just a few.

 

Books I was relieved to see didn’t make it….ANYTHING BY DAN BROWN.

 

 

2 responses to “T: “Best” books…how subjective…

  • Mitta

    I wish I could read and love books as much as you do. How about we make a deal, you keep on blogging and I’ll try to read one of your top picks. I just started a book club. We just finish The Alchemist and Eat Pray Love. I enjoyed both. I wanted to read ‘What is the What’ by Dave Eggers, since you “love, love, love…” the book. Thanks for keeping it real and fun.

    Mitta

  • twesties

    I have no doubt that you love books as much as I do…it is always hard to read as much as we want to but there is always time if you look hard enough. Whenever Im channel surfing and find myself settling for something I’m not really all that interested in I remind myself that I would much rather read.

    I loved the alchemist so much I highlighted certain sections that really spoke to me and I often refer to them. Eat Pray Love was definitely entertaining but I think I would have enjoyed it more if she has just ate and prayed… she kind of lost my interest after that.

    Look forward to reading your comments and thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

