D: Running the show


This morning I embarked on a little run. I ran 7km on Saturday and did lower body weights yesterday, and these two on consecutive days usually cripple me like no otha.  So I had planned to run today not realizing that I would have sore legs, and then decided to do it anyways 😀 I figured I’d scal’er back but try and up my speed a bit, so I did 5.6km in 30 minutes. Not super fast, for some of you (even though I don’t know who “you” are!!) who are seasoned runners, but pretty good for me, since it’s about 2 min/km faster than wheN I ran the 5k in May.

I thought I would share some of the songs that help to get me through runs where I want to throw myself into traffic rather than keep going. Maybe we could trade,  if a) anyone actually reads this, and b) you know of some good running/workout tunes 😀  As you will see, to say that my running mix is eclectic is a huge understatement, so I will let my playlist speak for itself:

Bulls on Parade – Rage Against the Machine

U & Ur Hand – Pink

The Final Countdown – Europe

Otherside – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Get Down – Emmalyn Estrada

The Fixer – Pearl Jam

Leaders of the Misled – The New Cities

Love Drunk – Boys Like Girls

DayGlo – Iglu & Hartly

Beautiful Day – U2

Legs – Iggy Pop

La Grange – Iggy Pop

Fire Burning – Sean Kingston

Dog Days are Over – Florence and the Machine

Lisztomania – Phoenix

Heads Will Roll – Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Gold Guns Girls – Metric

Talk Dirty to Me – Poison

Dirt Off Your Shoulder – Jay – Z

To Lose My Life  – White Lies

Neighbourhood #3 (Power Out) – Arcade Fire

Family Band – The Tragically Hip

The Darkest One – The Tragically Hip

The Warrior’s Code – Dropkick Murphys

And focusing specifically on the last song (Dropkick Murphys)…you really can’t beat this song in terms of lyrics to keep you going when you want to call it quits. Check it:

You’re the fighter you’ve got the fire
The spirit of a warrior, the champion’s heart
You fight for your life because the fighter never quits
You make the most of the hand you’re dealt
Because the quitter never wins
No!


One response to “D: Running the show

  • fullbellyfan(yesitsme)

    Love the throw back to Jay-Z dirt off your shoulder. Check out the remix with the verve Bittersweet symphony. it’ll rock your socks off!

Leave a Reply

