T: Pride and Persuasion.


In advance of y’all reading this and noticing a ridiculous number of typing errors I state for the record – I have a broken finger. This may seem like the least epic appendage to have broken, but it is really putting a cramp in my lifestyle – from making it difficult to upload photos to facebook to severely hindering my ability to use a curling iron.

So, now that Ive given you that caveat I can begin to blog 🙂 I am having an incredibly fantastic ‘I LOVE MY CITY’ kind of week. It all began the other day as I was walking home from a friend’s when I came upon a large white tent and blaring music. Outside of said tent were a few of the most glamorously dressed lady-men I have ever seen. I LOVE DRAG QUEENS! No can wear fake lashes and sequins quite like a man built like a line backer.

It was at this moment that it hit me – IT’s PRIDE WEEK! Now today when I went to the pride parade with D she said something that I have to relay to you guys as it is so completely true. She said that it is only on National Aboriginal Day and Pride week that one can involve oneself  in the festivities of a minority group to which you don’t belong without feeling unwanted. (Although I am pretty sure that everyone at the parade thought we were lesbi-friends…I am alright with this though as I could do muuuuch worse.) I also began to contemplate how one word – Pride – can have such different connotations depending on the context.

In Austen’s  ‘Persuasion’ pride is both inspiring and gag inducing depending on the character examined. Sir Elliot and his eldest daughter are both so sure of their own superiority in every possible way that to read descriptions of social situations in which they find themselves is painful – they are not only sure of their own perfection but they also feel that there is no way that those around them do not feel the same way. The middle Elliot (my new favourite literary heroine), Anne, is proud in a wholly different way. It is similar to the Pride I feel was witnessed in the parade today. It is a result of one’s own mistakes and struggles. It is a result of second guessing one’s own decisions and being accountable for one’s mistakes and successes. Anne realizes she has made mistakes in the past – mostly as a result of the persuasion of those around her. Throughout the novel we watch her grow and begin to take responsibility – for better or for worse – for all of her past and present decisions. She realizes that the only way to be content without regret is to answer only to one’s self.

My finger is beginning to hurt…so I’ll leave you with these thoughts.  In a discussion once with friends concerning infidelity I said that no one could be TAKEN away from someone; the person had to have wanted to leave. Does the same hold true for persuasion? Is there a limit to what we can or can not be persuaded to do? In order for persuasion to be successful must one have a desire to act in this way in the first place?

One response to “T: Pride and Persuasion.

  • fanofD[and T :) ]

    T
    Can’t say I have ever been much of a fan of the classics, but you are making them slightly more desirable!

    ps. don’t take offense to the name, i just happened to read Ds post first. You are both wonderful!

Leave a Reply

