T: What makes us happy vs. What people say will make us happy.


Today I learned alot about myself. 1- I love beer. 2- I love to read 3- I love how quickly I can read 4- I am full of s*^t. So first things first. I was supposed to play tennis with a friend of mine after work. Tennis turned into grabbing a drink on the patio across the street from my house. Grabbing a drink turned into each buying a pitcher. Long story short – I’m a little tipsy and it’s Tuesday. Number two – I finished Madame Bovary last night and was struck by how much people should read this book during a recession. The focus of the book near the end shifted from Emma Bovary’s inability to remain faithful to her inability to say no to anything…regardless of whether or not she could afford it. So that I can say this in such a way as to arouse curiosity while not dampening enthusiasm for future readers; one of her vices may be her undoing…but it’s not the one you think. I have also began Jane Austen’s ‘Persuasion’. It’s resounding with me in a very personal way and has made me come upon something I think everyone should take a moment and meditate upon..YOUR LIFE AND ITS’ EVENTS ARE NOT AS IMPORTANT TO OTHERS AS THEY SEEM TO YOU. The third of my above points just means that soon enough we can move on to Anna Karenina which will mean passion and explicit affairs for everyone. The fourth of my points above means Im going to share a revelation. I’m pretty sure I don’t know what I’m talking about though…so take it or leave it; I think more women should treat the opposite sex as men do. They provide visual stimulation. They are there for companionship and entertainment. You spend time with the ones you enjoy but they don’t take over your life and they only take importance after family and friends. If a special one comes along these rules change; you marry them. This is a lesson in how to date – man style. Also, it seems from ‘persuasion’ and ‘madame bovary’ the lesson is – you can listen to those around you, but whether they tell you to do something or not to do something you are screwed. You’re damned if you do. You’re damned if you don’t. The only way to secure happiness is to do what makes you smile. It might make those around you cringe but at least you’ll always know who to blame.

Leave a Reply

